

Minutes of CLASP Organizing Committee on 27th July 2020 by Video Conference

- 1. Attendees: R. Close [Chair], M. Arnold [Daventry Town Council and Museum], J. Aveling [Trustee, Secretary & Blisworth HS, G. Boreham [Towcester and District LHS], S. Deacon [Project Communication to Members], A. Evans [Trustee & Treasurer], N. Garnett [Whitehall Project], F. Kay [Weedon Bec HS], J. Pyle [Independent Members' Representative], S. Young [Trustee & Archaeological Director].
- 2. Apologies: D. Hayward [Chair of Trustees], S. Pervez [Trustee], M. Lewis [Trustee], A. Standish [NARC], J. Smith [Harpole Heritage Group], J. Johns [Membership Secretary].
- 3.Field Centre. R. Close outlined the results of the Working Group's efforts to find new premises. Over thirty options have been considered. Premises at an industrial estate in Rugby meet all our needs and more. They are modern and have all facilities and are within our budget. However the distance from our sphere of interest is a stumbling factor. We are in contact with a volunteer organisation and awaiting a reply from them. Similarly we are in discussion with a local village regarding space on their sports ground. Finally, we are in contact with a local farmer who is to meet SY in a short time. Some of these options may be medium and long term in CLASP's future and may not be the solution to our current position. However the Working Group is continuing to investigate possibilities and may have more definite news in the near future.
- 4. Anglo Saxon Cemetery. A long discussion of the pros and cons of holding a dig this year resulted in the decision that COVID19 health issues and the problems of close working would be too difficult to carry out in a safe manner. It was suggested that it would be possible to have a CLASP project in September and members are asked to send in suggestions. SD is to email members about this.

Trustees: Dave Hayward (Chair), Angela Evans (Treasurer), Stephen Young (Archaeology Director), Marcus Lewis, Jim Aveling, Salma Pervez.

Organising Committee: Rob Close (Chair), Jim Aveling (Secretary), Julia Johns (Membership Secretary).