

## Minutes of the CLASP Organizing Committee on 18<sup>th</sup> May 2020 by video conference

- 1. **Attendance**: R. Close [Chair], J. Aveling [Trustee, Secretary & Blisworth Heritage Society], G. Boreham [Towcester & District Local History Society], S. Deacon [Project Communication], N. Garnett [Whitehall Roman Villa], M. Lewis [Trustee], J. Pyle [Independent Members' Representative], T. Saxby [Trustees' Secretary], A. Standish [NARC], S. Young [Trustee & Archaeological Director]. (A number of other members were planning to attend by Zoom but various issues prevented this).
- 2. **Apologies**: S. Pervez [Trustee], J. Johns [Membership Secretary], J. Smith [Harpole Heritage Group].
- 3. Matters arising from 13<sup>th</sup> January Meeting: As the focus of the call was on a few major topics the Chairman had circulated a note showing progress on the other matters.

## 3. Field centre

The Chairman explained that CLASP may have to leave the Field Centre at New Creation Farm as House of Goodness is selling the property. We have to agree a new lease which gives our landlord the right from any date after December this year to ask us to leave. A small group comprising R. Close, S. Young, N. Garnett and J. Aveling is to investigate suitable premises as a replacement. As it may be difficult to locate a new permanent site in time, it may also be necessary to look at options for temporary storage. Other members are most welcome to join if they wish. R. Close and S. Young have negotiated a good sum with House of Goodness to cover the costs of two moves.

## 4. Summer projects

It was agreed that the dig at Manshead Field will not take place this year. The dig at the Saxon Cemetery site is still on for September but depends upon circumstances nearer the time.

## 5. Member communication

R Close agreed to draft a note for S. Deacon to circulate members. This has happened.

Trustees: Dave Hayward (Chair), Angela Evans (Treasurer), Stephen Young (Archaeology Director), Marcus Lewis, Jim Aveling, Salma Pervez.

**Organising Committee:** Rob Close (Chair), Jim Aveling (Secretary), Julia Johns (Membership Secretary