

CLASP

Community Landscape & Archaeology Survey Project

Correspondence to Jim Aveling (james@jamesaveling.wanadoo.co.uk) Secretary CLASP Organising Committee.

Minutes of the Organising Committee 19th January 2015

1. Attendance

- 1.1 Rob Close [Chair and BHAP], Jim Aveling [Secretary and Blisworth HS], Georgina Boreham [Towcester DLHS], Sandra Deacon [Secretary of the Trustees], Angela Evans [Trustee and Treasurer], Norman Garnett [Whitehall Roman Villa Project], Dave Hayward [Chair of the Trustees and co-opted member for Research], Julia Johns [membership Secretary and Weedon Bec HS], Tony Kesten [Trustee and Individual Members' Representative], Jennifer Smith [Harpole Heritage Group], Alan Standish [NARC], Stephen Young [Archaeological Director].
- 2. Apologies
- 2.1 Bill Wiggins [NNPAST]
- 3. Previous minutes were accepted.
- 3.1 Matters arising.
- 3.2 Professor Gary Lock will address our AGM.
- 3.3 The CLASP tee shirt issue will be discussed at the April meeting.
- 4. The Archaeological Director fleshed out his proposals for our projects in 2015. Sandra Deacon has become a co-opted member of the committee and, with Georgina Boreham, will arrange people and resources for the coming season.
- 5. It was agreed that geophysical results should be written up and publicised. Rob Close offered to be involved.
- 6. The Treasurer outlined our financial position. We have received a donation from Nether Heyford Parish Council and also from Macflex [a local company]. The Chairman said we were able to finance our present promotional efforts.
- 7. The recruitment of new members provoked a lengthy discussion. It was agreed that a small sub-committee comprising Alan Standish, Julia Johns, Tony Kesten and Georgina Boreham would look further into the matter and report back at the April meeting.
- 8. The paper on storage strategy was not discussed and will feature in the April agenda.
- 9. DH outlined his submission on the Daventry Development Link Road. He stressed the importance of the Roman Villa site at Upper Heyford.
- 10. The magnetometry survey on the Milton Keynes museum site will be undertaken by CLASP. The report on the results will not be a CLASP initiative.
- 11. The issue of the CLASP logo is to be discussed at the April meeting.

Trustees: Dave Hayward (Chair), Sandra Deacon (Secretary), Angela Evans (Treasurer), Stephen Young

(Archaeology Director), Grenville Hatton, Tony Kesten, Alan Watson

Organising Committee: Rob Close (Chair), Jim Aveling (Secretary), Julia Johns (Membership Secretary)

CLASP is grateful for support from:

