

## **CLASP**Community Landscape & Archaeology Survey Project

## **Minutes of CLASP Annual General Meeting 2008**

Tuesday 16<sup>th</sup> September, 7.00 pm at the Saxon Suite, Daventry Leisure Centre

- 1. Alan Watson, chair of the Trustees, opened the meeting and welcomed the 27 members present. No apologies had been received.
- 2. **Minutes of the last AGM**, September 18<sup>th</sup> 2007 were approved (proposed Jeremy Cooper, seconded, Alan Priestley)
- 3. There were **no matters arising** from the minutes.
- 4. **Chairman's Report:** Alan Watson thanked everyone who had contributed to CLASP's work over the last year, in particular David Banner and Alan Priestley who had now resigned from the Board of Trustees, Dave Hayward, now seeking to hand over the post of Organising Committee Secretary, Tony Johns who produces the Newsletter, and Jeremy Cooper who manages the website.
- 5. **Treasurer's Report**: The accounts for the year were in the Annual Report. Angela Evans explained that of the £6476.80 in the funds, only £548 was 'free' money as the rest was provided for specific projects. The Chairman recommended that any members shopping at Waitrose nominate CLASP under their new charity scheme.
- 6. **Acceptance of Draft Mission Statement** The Chairman explained that this was needed for grant applications, and would be worked on further during the year by the Trustees. The Draft contained in the Annual Report was accepted (proposed Dave Hayward, seconded Stephen Young).
- 7. **Acceptance of Annual Report**: This year's report on the activities of CLASP and its member groups had been available on the website beforehand and printed copies were distributed at the meeting. It was commended by the Chairman and accepted by the meeting (proposed, Alan Priestley, seconded, Tony Harrison).
- 8. **Appointment of Trustees**: Of the eight nominees, six had served before (Nick Adams, Jeremy Calderwood, Ruth Downie, Angela Evans, Alan Watson, Stephen Young) and two new members were willing to stand (Sandra Deacon, Tony Kesten) Proposed by Jeremy Cooper and seconded by Colin Evans that the existing Trustees still willing to serve should be re-elected en bloc and the two new candidates also elected as Trustees. Agreed.
- 9. **Appointment of Officers**: Chair, Secretary, Treasurer. The existing officers (Alan Watson, Ruth Downie and Angela Evans respectively) were willing to serve again. The meeting agreed that they should be reappointed (Proposed: Jeremy Cooper)
- 10. The meeting closed at 7.15 pm, and was followed by a public meeting and discussion.

CLASP, The Secretary, 21 Stacey Avenue, Wolverton, Milton Keynes, MK12 5DN

**Executive Committee:** Alan Watson (Chair), Ruth Downie (Secretary), Angela Evans (Treasurer), Stephen Young (Archaeology Director), Nick Adams, Jeremy Calderwood, Sandra Deacon, Tony Kesten **Organising Committee:** Jeremy Cooper (Acting Chair), Dave Hayward (Secretary), Julia Johns (Membership Secretary)

